Gaurav Gill Clinches Third APRC Crown

Gaurav Gill in action (Oct 30)
Spread the love

Gaurav Gill produced another marvelous drive to retain his FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship title. It was his third since 2013 as he led another 1-2 Team MRF sweep in the Coffee Day India Rally 2017. Finishing ahead of team-mate Ole Christian Veiby from Norway, the victory margin was by 17 minutes and 38.4 seconds.

The Coffee Day India Rally organized by Motor Sports Club of Chikmagalur doubled up as the final and home round of the 2017 APRC season. The 35-year old Indian with his co-driver Stephane Prevot of Belgium led Veiby by six points as both needed a win to take the prestigious crown.

As the young Norwegian suffered mechanical problems on Sunday and lost time, Gill cruised home to another fine victory. It worth 38 points and took Gill’s tally to 174 while Veiby finished ten points behind. While Gill won three of the five rounds, Veiby had his share of two in the other two as MRF Tyres bagged team championship with Skoda taking the manufacturer’s title.

It was the fearless Indian’s 17th win in APRC since making debut in 2008. Reveling on a commanding lead of 15 minutes overnight, Gill did not push hard and yet won one of the day’s four Special Stages while Veiby continued his charge to move from third to second before the unfortunate failure.

Spread the love